Review: The Body Shop Blue Corn 3 in 1 Deep Cleansing Scrub Mask

C: if you saw our recent body shop hauls (which are here and here if you missed them!), then you will be well aware that a review of this bad boy was a comin’! I love a good face mask, and thought that I would make the most of having time to do one every now and again whilst on maternity leave before baba arrives! The lady in the shop recommended this one, and whilst having a perusal/doing some research on their website it appears that this blue corn mask is a best seller – and for good reason!

IMG_0120

The Body Shop claims that this three-in-one cleansing mask cleanses, exfoliates and moisturises normal to oily skin and is suitable as a weekly treatment. So did I agree with these claims? Basically… yes! I applied this before going for a bath and removed after about 10 minutes. My skin immediately felt very refreshed and clean without feeling tight and uncomfortable- always a plus after a face mask, especially when you have as sensitive skin as mine!

The next day my skin was less oily, but I had two new spots come up… not ideal but you know. The next day these blemishes had already disappeared! Like magic! So I am guessing this mask did an excellent job of clearing out some blocked pores – although I wouldn’t recommend using this for the first time before an event etc. I then left it a week before using it again, and although the benefits were still there – clean, exfoliated skin I personally find that using it twice a week is more effective at maintaining unblocked pores, otherwise you have the blemish situation every week (well I did anyway!).

The only claim I slightly disagree with is that it moisturises. I personally still needed to apply my moisturiser as usual after trying this, so although it didn’t strip my skin of moisture like most masks for oily skin do I wouldn’t say it added any moisture either.

The lady in the shop also recommended applying this with an old make up brush, meaning the product goes further and really sinks into your pores. I loved this recommendation, and I am really annoyed I didn’t think of it before as it saves so much product/mess and is way more hygienic than shoving your fingers in the pot each application! It also means this pot is going to last me absolutely ages, which when it was only £11 to begin with (cheap when you think you will get more than 11 applications per pot!) is amazing!

Have any of you guys tried this? If not I really would recommend trying it! It is one of the best masks I have tried in ages (and the colour of the pot goes so nicely with my bathroom!) #twolittleowls

4 thoughts on “Review: The Body Shop Blue Corn 3 in 1 Deep Cleansing Scrub Mask

  1. Karen Rees

    Haven’t tried it girls but it’s definitely going on my shopping list – it’s been far too long since I’ve treated myself to a bodyshop haul… years in fact *shakes head* tut tut XXX

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

