Baby Diaries: What’s in my Hospital Bag!

C: packing your hospital bag is one of those things that need doing… but seem like a horrible job. No one likes going into hospital, even if its planned and you get a baby at the end of it! So I thought I would show you all what I have packed so anyone who still needs to do theres can find an easy list of what to pack without having to stress. Now really, credit for this list needs to go to my lovely (ex) preggo friend Danielle who told me what to pack! But lets get cracking with the list!

Toiletries: shampoo and conditioner, hair brush, toothbrush (for you and birthday partner!), toothpaste, shower gel, moisturiser, dry shampoo, face wipes! To make this slightly more fun I went shopping and got some nice miniatures so I didn’t need to worry too much about remembering to bring everything home!

A nighty to give birth in – I got a black one in just a couple of sizes bigger than I would normally wear rather than spending loads of money on a maternity one! Or just take an old one you don’t mind throwing away after!

Comfy pyjamas and knickers for afterwards

Towels (old ones or dark ones again I would suggest!) and your maternity swimming costume if you want to go in the birthing pool.

Maternity pads and breast pads – not attractive or nice to think about but essentials none the less!

Clothes for baby! I am packing a couple of sleep suits, a few vests, hats, socks and coming home outfit, as hopefully we won’t be in for long… your birthing partner can always go and pick up more if you end up having to stay longer!

Nappies, cotton wool pads, baby wipes and nappy cream for babba!

Snacks and drinks to keep you and your birthing partner going – I would recommend the non-fizzy lucozade after doing research. You need the sugar but anything fizzy might make you feel a bit sick!

So there are my hospital bag essentials! I haven’t gone crazy and packed books/music as I don’t think I will want them, but obviously that all depends on your birth plan/personal preferences! However I have heard a lot of people say that they didn’t actually get time to use them, so just ended up lugging pointless things around, which you definitely don’t want to do! And as a side note… it isn’t in your hospital bag, but make sure that car seat is fitted in advance! Let me know if you think I have forgotten anything! #twolittleowls

2 thoughts on “Baby Diaries: What’s in my Hospital Bag!

Leave a Reply

