Review: Bourjois Rouge Edition AQUA Laque in Rose on the Rocks

C: If you saw my recent haul post (Which is here if you missed it) I had wanted to try Bourjois’ liquid lipsticks for AGES and finally picked up the “Aqua” (glossy for normal people I believe) version in Rose on the Rocks. I have been trying it out for a few days now so wanted to give you guys a quick review!

photo 2(36)

Available here for £8.99 or often on offer for 3 for 2, Boots describe this product as follows: “Mirror-like shine, intense colour & 10hr hydration”. So what did I think?

First of all, I absolutely love this rose colour. As soon as I put it on I was like YES! THIS IS AMAZING! And text Annie about it straight away… always a good sign. For me this is the perfect my lips but better colour, and one of the reasons I often pick up a rose/pinky colour when trying a new lipstick or brand. However… I wouldn’t agree that it is an intense colour, not for this shade anyway. As you can see in the swatch below this is more of a wash of colour in a gloss. I have seen swatches of other colours, such as the reds etc that really are intensely pigmented, and although this isn’t it doesn’t make me like it any less.

photo 3(21)

As for shine… it really is a lovely gloss effect without the horrid stickiness that you get with most lipglosses. It feels very moisturising and comfortable on the lips and does help keep lips hydrated – so those claims really are true! However, it doesn’t last for very long! After about an hour it has just disappeared! It leaves a slight stain behind but all glossiness is gone and it needs reapplying, especially if you eat or drink anything. The plus side to this is that you don’t need a mirror to reapply and it smells like sweets, so I quite enjoyed the process really!

So all in all, a beautiful if slightly less pigmented than claimed moisturising lip product! I personally still love it even with its slight flaws as it makes my make up look more natural. Has anyone else tried these? If so are the other colours similar in pigmentation/longevity?! #twolittleowls

2 thoughts on “Review: Bourjois Rouge Edition AQUA Laque in Rose on the Rocks

Leave a Reply

