Review: Essie Crocadilly

IMG_5542
A: Chloe bought me this varnish for Christmas and this is the first time I’ve used it. To be honest, I wasn’t totally sure about the colour because it looks silver in the bottle and silver isn’t really a colour I usually wear. But when Chloe and I spent the afternoon drinking tea and painting our nails last weekend, I decided to give it a go. And then I realised why Chloe had chosen it for me.

IMG_5538

IMG_5535

IMG_5537

IMG_5539
Okay I realise it doesn’t look silver once it’s on; but this is because of the handy little magnet attached to the top of the bottle. The varnish is magnetic, and once you’ve done the usual buff, file, base coat and first coat of colour, and then add the second coat; you hold the magnet over the wet varnish for a few seconds. Once you take it away you can see the pattern it leaves, which is made up of tiny diamonds. This is the point where I understood the name behind the varnish – it looks like the skin of a crocodile!! The silvery black tones of the varnish separate from the green, leaving outlined diamond pattern or ‘crocodile skin’ effect.
I have used a Barry M magnetic varnish before, which doesn’t give as much of a definitive pattern as the Essie one and it is easy to use although does take a little bit of practice. The varnish also lasted a good few days without a top coat, but Essie are known for their high quality products. I would definitely recommend this product, and it was fun to use!

Have you used any magnetic varnishes? #twolittleowls

2 thoughts on “Review: Essie Crocadilly

Leave a Reply

