Review: Nanshy Blending Sponge

A & C: We were super lucky to receive some Blending sponges from the team at Nanshy as part of the #BHtwitterparty from The Bloggers Hub. Nanshy are a make up brush and tool company based in the UK, who pride themselves on their 100% vegan products. They sent us two of the their Marvel 4 in 1 blending sponges, one for each of us to try – which will be launched in February.

photo 1(24)

“Easy to use, easy to care for – washable and re-usable. Tremendous quality over similar products and value at a much lower price. Latex free, non-allergenic and odour free, works its wonders with all kinds of make-up:
Liquid Make-ups, Cream Make-ups, Mineral-Based and Wet-Dry Powders PLUS Cream Blushes!
Get a look that combines hand application detail with airbrush application smoothness.”

It’s priced at £5.95 – the average amount of other similar products available.

So, what do we think?

A: I’m going to be totally honest about this, I’m not really that impressed. I’m not sure if that’s because I’ve recently tried Avon’s blending sponge and I’m comparing it to that, but I just really didn’t get on with it. Up until using the Avon sponge, I had been using a Mac foundation brush because I’d never felt a need for a blending sponge. I was really excited to see these in the post from Nanshy though because I knew I’d be able to do a comparison for you guys; you can see my Avon review here. I really love the Avon sponge, it leaves no marks when applying, doesn’t soak up loads of product and it’s super easy to clean. The Nanshy sponge also doesn’t leave any marks but it does soak up a lot of product; which I’m not really a fan of. Although it may just be the impractical paler colour, it appears very dirty after one use.
Because it’s ‘4 in 1’, it had 4 different surfaces to use in different areas of your face. But it isn’t as precise as the Avon sponge which has a really fine point to reach under the inner corners of your eyes (to cover those pesky dark circles!) and to be honest I don’t really have a need for the 4 different surfaces of the Nanshy.
I do however love the ethos behind Nanshys products. They really do pride themselves on their cruelty free products, something which a lot of beauty companies could do with following. I hadn’t heard of them before but I will definitely be looking at trying some of their brushes in the future, to see how the compare with others I’ve used.

C: I really liked using this! I have never used a blending sponge before as I love my make up brush collection so I was super excited to try this. It took a while for me to get the hang of this for applying my foundation, but once I got used to it (too used to my stippling brush) it provides a flawless base. It literally looks like you have no make up on, just perfect skin! But then… I was feeling clever and used it to blend my contour. Perfection! Seriously. I much prefer using it for this now, no more dodgy Bronzer streaks for me! You need to give it a try (and so does Annie)!

We’d like to say thank you to Nanshy for sending us these to try, we really love finding out about new companies through the Bloggers Hub, and can’t wait to try some more of their products #twolittleowlsblog

One thought on “Review: Nanshy Blending Sponge

Leave a Reply

