Review: Sleek Make Up Matte Me ultra smooth matte lip cream

A: Hi guys! I thought I’d treat you all to a review on the cold and windy Friday evening. This is something I bought in the lead up to christmas, knowing that I would need a long-lasting red lip product to see me through the festive period and as soon as I used it, I knew I would have to share it with you lovely readers.

2015/01/img_5176.jpg

2015/01/img_5175.jpg
I chose the colour Rioja Red, but there are other colours available (click here to see the full range) – if you’re not a fan of pink though there isn’t a lot of choice. I don’t wear pink lip colour at all because of my super orange hair… but the red is beautiful. A bright pillarbox red which is super wearable and has a really rich tone. The first time I used this, I didn’t pre-moisturise my lips which is a rookie mistake. Because of its super matte finish, using a lip balm before you apply is really important! So here’s how it looks…

2015/01/img_5170.jpg

2015/01/img_5174.jpg
I can’t even comprehend how long-lasting this product is. These photos were taken three hours after I applied it. And it’s still pretty much perfect!! It does start to bleed a little around the edges after a while, but I haven’t used it with a lip liner yet and I’m sure that would help stop any issues. It’s super pigmented, and dries pretty much instantly, at which point it turns from a gloss to a matte. Drinking and eating doesn’t budge it either, which is always a bonus!! It does stain your skin though, so if you don’t get it right the first time you will look like Heath Ledger as the Joker from The Batman. And I’m telling you that from experience.
I love the finished look of this so much, but there are some things which I’m not so happy with. The applicator for one thing could be better. I prefer the ‘heart’ shaped applicators when it comes to ‘gloss’ style packaging. This is just a little awkward to use because it’s just a straight nib. Also, it is incredibly drying. After I’ve used it, I always use the Lush Lip Scrub and plenty of moisturiser to try to get my lips back to some kind of normal state.
It isn’t something I would wear on a regular basis, but it is so good for special occasions where you know you will need to be able to rely on a long-lasting, durable product.

Have you tried any matte lip creams? I’d love to know because I’m desperate to find some more, I’m addicted now! #twolittleowlsblog

11 thoughts on “Review: Sleek Make Up Matte Me ultra smooth matte lip cream

Leave a Reply

