Review: KIKO MILANO Lipstick and Eye Shadow with swatches

A: We recently made a trip to London for a launch party (click here if you want to see more!), and whilst Chloe and I were taking the obligatory ‘we’re on a train’ selfies, I suddenly realised I had left my lipstick at home. But don’t panic, our route from the tube station to the event was planned by following make-up shops (we are beauty bloggers after all). Our first stop was KIKO MILANO – an Italian professional cosmetics brand that features a range of cutting-edge makeup, face and body treatments. We knew we would probably end up heading here anyway; regardless of the lack of lipstick situation, because Chloe’s lovely mother-number-two actually bought her some Kiko goodies back from a trip to Italy in June (you can find the post here). She loved the products, and with the first UK store opening in April this year we hadn’t had chance to visit one for ourselves (we live in the middle of nowhere) – until now!

We visited the store on Regent Street, just off Oxford Circus, and it was SO busy. The layout of the store is amazing though, with really good lighting (you know when you go in some make-up stores and the lighting is SO bright and makes you look/feel horrendous? Totally not like that, we didn’t feel too scared to look in a mirror) and the products were well labelled and stocked. There was a lot of pushing from customers though, with everyone desperate to have get a good look everything. The products were spread across two floors but we actually only had a look round the one floor because we didn’t have much time! So what did I purchase?

IMG_0017.JPG

IMG_0015.JPG

Velvet Mat Satin Lipstick in Autumn Pink Shade 611 – £6.90

“Mat satin lipstick with exclusive design”

This is the best lipstick packaging I have ever seen – hands down. It’s rose gold and beautiful – but does take a little working out (there are even instructions on how to open it on the inside of the box!). Once its open, you can see the quality of the product. It smells lovely and when it’s applied it super creamy and velvety too. This shade is a gorgeous deep brownish pink with a subtle red tint. It lasted all night too, I only had to reapply once, it almost has a staining quality.  As you can probably guess, I am head-over-heels in love with this. The colour, the formula – everything about it. Plus it’s one of the only pink shades I’ve been able to find that suits me!! Ginger and pink clash in a very bad way. I also cannot believe the price of this. I would even go as far as saying that I prefer it’s texture and quality to that of my MAC matte lipstick (!!?), and it’s less than half the price!

IMG_0012.JPG

IMG_0014.JPG

IMG_0013.JPG

Colour Sphere Eyeshadow in Avio Multicolour Shade 26 – £5.90

“Baked silk effect eye shadow, brilliant and easy to blend”

I normally wear eye shadows as a liner, rather than an all-over lid colour, but I thought this could work really well for both – if I am brave enough to branch out a little. Plus I don’t have a bluish toned eye shadow and I read somewhere that it’s the best colour to wear for blue eyes (I might be wrong!). It has a navy base colour with undertones of grey and gold with a gold/silver shimmer and micro glitter. I’ve used this nearly everyday for since I’ve had it, it works so well as a liner applied with a damp brush for an every day look – but also smudged out more of a smokey-eye effect. It lasts all day too! The packaging feels really high-end and durable. Not something I would expect at all from spending £5.90, it almost has a MAC look about it. There are 30 colours in this collection, plus a massive range of other eye shadow collections, all at amazing prices!

IMG_0018.JPG
I thought I’d include some swatches to give you a true photo of how the products look when they’re applied. I’m so happy with my choices, it wasn’t an easy decision to make because Kiko have such a wide range.

If you haven’t checked out KIKO already, you should head to their website right now. They are like ELF, but better quality – don’t get me wrong, I love ELF but sometimes their packaging can be a little off, and KIKO have hit the packaging nail on the head.

Have you tried any products from Kiko Cosmetics? #twolittleowlsblog

12 thoughts on “Review: KIKO MILANO Lipstick and Eye Shadow with swatches

  1. Michela Bentivoglio

    I found this article while looking for reviews about some kiko products and I discovered only now that Kiko opened stores in the UK… It’s still kind of amazing to me how much they grew, I still remember when this was a rather obscure make up company even in Italy (we’re talking around 1999-2000),
    Anyway, I’m glad to see you liked the velvet mat formula – for me it’s one of the best you can find around, and among all the colours shade 614 is a huge favourite of mine. I came to appreciate Kiko more and more during the last 5-6 years, there’re several products worthy of attention o even downright great (like the stick and the water eyeshadows) and at reasonable prices
    .
    P.S.
    I apologize in advance for any eventual abuse of the English language, I’m from Italy as you maybe have already guessed 😉

    Like

    Reply
    1. twolittleowlsblog Post author

      Hi there! so good to hear from you! Chloe actually bought one of the eyeshadow sticks and we are both so impressed with it. I’m sure she will be reviewing it soon! We really do love the brand, and can’t wait to buy some more goodies!
      Thank you for your comment – your English really is very impressive, you have nothing to worry about!

      Annie x

      Like

      Reply
      1. Michela Bentivoglio

        You’re very nice, thanks 🙂 I’m a sort of grammar nazi about my native language, so I become always kind of self-conscious when I use something different from Italian…

        I guess I’ll stick around your blog waiting for more reviews, I’m also curious about your opinion on Kiko eyshadow sticks – they’re a staple of mine (I use them in the golden-brown-bronze shades variations, since those are the colours I prefer generally speaking about eyeshadows; also, all this talking about Kiko makes me think that I’ll have to raid the shop at least once before the end of the current promotion on lipsticks).
        I only had a bit of a glance around the blog yesterday night before bedtime (tried to post a reply but wordpress was not allowing me), but I can already say I like the general mood of it; it feels friendly and with a light-hearted touch. And looking at your info I saw you too are a proud crazy cat lady, so I’ve to find the cat-related posts 😉

        Thanks to you for your friendly reply; I love cosmetics and skin-care related stuff, but I actually don’t know many people in real life who are so interested – or fanatic- as I am; I usually rely on the internet as source of information and interaction about this topic.
        Wish good blogging to both of you x

        Like

  2. Pingback: A Vintage Bride ft. Lover.ly | twolittleowlsblog

  3. Pingback: Review: For the Love of Kiko | twolittleowlsblog

  4. Pingback: Holiday Essentials Part Two | twolittleowlsblog

Leave a Reply

