You Beauty Discovery Box October Edition

A: This is a beauty box that I find myself unable to unsubscribe from. I’ve had it for the last two months now (you can see September’s here), and you get between four and five products each month, two of which you choose from a selection which the team at You Beauty have put together. The price of the box is £6.95 – including postage! So here is what I got this month, the first two items being the ‘extras’, the second two being my choices.

photo 1

Gold Collagen Forte 

“GOLD COLLAGEN® Forte is a new anti-ageing liquid beauty supplement; it contains a unique, potent blend of antioxidants (Q10, acai berry, pomegranate, lycopene, L-Carnosine and resveratrol) to reduce the oxidative stress associated with ageing in your 40’s.”

Okay this is weird. I actually opened this and smelt it before I read what it was, and I assumed it was a lotion because of it’s super sweet scent. Then I read that you drink it. WHAT?! This is a daily supplement, and it is recommended that you drink one bottle a day to support healthy looking skin, hair and nails. It’s also supposed to hydrate your skin, reduce the appearance of wrinkles and protect against oxidative damage (whatever that is). The flavour is Peach and Lychee, and I love anything that smells or tastes of peach but this really smells awful to me. The sweet, almost clinical smell makes me gag. There is no way I can imagine drinking this, and the retail price is £40 for a ten-day package. Not particularly cheap, but if it does what it says on the tin it’s probably worth it. It is aimed at the 40+ age group. Not quite there yet. Sorry You Beauty, this is not for me.

Cowshed Perfecting Night Serum

“Cowshed Anti-Ageing Perfecting Night Serum is the ultimate all-in-one anti-ageing treatment for busy women with busy lives. The innovative serum-in-oil hybrid is bursting with natural active ingredients and essential oils that work wonders on your skin while you sleep, so that you can wake up to a firmer, brighter and smoother complexion. They don’t call it beauty sleep for nothing!”

This is a product I am much happier with. I’ve seen a lot of Cowshed products about and have been wanting to try them out for a while. I am at the age (argh) where I should start to use anti-ageing products, so hopefully this will encourage me. Prevention is better than cure, as they say. It contains natural ingredients, such as Rosehip oil and Evening Primrose oil for cell regeneration and Jojoba oil with skin-soothing minerals such as zinc and vitamins B and E. Plus the brand was founded in an actual cowshed. Amazing. It does come in a little pricey though, at £48, but You Beauty are offering a code to receive a Skin Care Starter Kit with every purchase from the Cowshed website (click here). I received a sample size version of this, and although it is a little small I will be letting you know what I think.

photo 2

 

Illamasqua Glamore Lipstick in Tease

“Illamasque Glamore Lipsticks are colour intense lipsticks with a long lasting satin finish.They offer ultimate comfort and smooth application without compromising on colour. Long lasting with intense pigment payoff, these lipsticks ooze both glamour and sophistication.”

photo 2

I was SO excited when I saw these lipsticks were available and headed online as soon as I could to add this to my box! I’ve never had a product from this company before, but I was expecting good things. The packaging really is lovely, super sophisticated and posh (plus it makes a lovely clicking sound when you put the lid on, does anyone else get an insane amount of satisfaction from that?!). But I am disappointed with the colour. Don’t get me wrong, I love a nude lipstick – most of my collection is made up of nudes but because of it’s amazing colour pigmentation, this applies like a concealer. It’s really strange! I’m hoping I can make it work for me though because the consistency is perfect, it applies beautifully – so keep you eyes out for a make-up look including this! This retails at £18.50 – so more than double the price I paid for my whole box.

 

photo 3

 

Wild About Beauty Power Eyeshadow in Alana

“These eyeshadows are enriched with skin conditioning Aloe Vera & Vitamins E & C, available in an array of wearable shades, ideal for creating a multitude of looks. Apply to eyelids with an eyeshadow brush. If you’re looking for a Wild About Beauty brush, the brand recommends the Tapered Eyesahdow Brush.”

photo 1

I received a Wild About Beauty lipstick in last month’s box and loved it, so when I saw this I know I had to go for it. Now, I’m not a massive eyeshadow fan. I just can’t get it to look right on me, but I do like to use it as an eyeliner. This colour however is so lovely that I am going to try and branch out and wear it in a smokey eye look (wish me luck!!). It really is highly pigmented, and the little bee is so super cute. I find it really handy that it has a little mirror too! These retail at £13.

Although I was a little disappointed with some of the products in this month’s box, I am going to try and make them work for me (not the Collagen stuff though…). I will persevere with the lipstick and the eyeshadow, and try to do a make-up look using them both, so keep following! The total value of this box is approximately £36 – a real bargain considering I paid just £6.95. If I’ve tempted you, you can head to the You Beauty Discovery Website by clicking here.

Have you tried this beauty box? What do you think? #twolittleowls

 

 

 

One thought on “You Beauty Discovery Box October Edition

  1. Pingback: Halloween Leopard Make-Up Tutorial | twolittleowlsblog

Leave a Reply

