Hillary’s #blindofthemonth Home Makeover Competition

A: When I spotted this competition, I knew I had to enter it – I love anything to do with interior design, and my boyfriend are currently in the (very long) process of renovating our home so this is amazing inspiration for me. 

Hillary’s have put together this competition to design your bedroom at home using their Blind of the Month, the Monochrome Midnight. Not only do you get to have fun with designing, but there’s also an amazingly generous prize up for grabs – a selection of products worth up to £1000!

mono-midnight-blind-hillary_featuredBecause this is a blackout blind, I have based my design on cool and calming colours and themes. It’s also a pretty bold design, so I would firstly layer it with some voile curtains.

 Sabina-Tab-Top-Single-Panel-Voile~61D570FRSP

 I love these ones because the layered lace give them a feminine and vintage feel – which would balance with the bold, masculine print of the blind perfectly. Voile curtains look so pretty in a window, with the sunlight drifting through them whilst they flutter in the breeze, they are a perfect addition to any bedroom with a blind as they let the sunlight in during the day, but the blind serves it’s purpose at night time whilst not looking out of place.

home_style_-_flanders_-_beige_brown_master

belgravia_berber_cream_standard

 

This wood-look vinyl flooring wood be perfect in a room with these colours, it’s really realistic and so easy to look after too, and I love this Belgravia Berber Cream carpet from Hillary’s – it has such a thick pile so will feel super cosy and add some comfort to the room with some rugs made from this.

traditional-wallpaper

For a statement wall, I would use this pretty floral wallpaper. The idea of clashing patterns in a room is one of my favourites; not too much but just enough to create an unusual and interesting look. The colours in this particular paper are perfect with the Monochrome Midnight Blind; because the pattern has a ‘sketched’ look, it has tones of black and grey which echo the palette of the blind. It is such a pretty design and would look beautiful on any wall, and I really like the fact that it has a cream background; white and black together can be a little harsh but cream and black has a much more calming effect.

Untitled

I’ve put together a mood board for accessories and finishing touches. I love the warm colours that these floral fairy lights give so used this as inspiration for soft furnishings, like the rose and peony cushion and cream bedding. I would also use dark wood furniture to enhance the rustic, vintage atmosphere I want to achieve. This, along with cute vintage mirrors, hessian stag cushion and mason jar lighting would really give the room a calm and cosy feel and it would be the perfect place to escape for some peace and tranquility. 

When I first saw the colours of the Blind of the Month, I wasn’t sure how I would put a room theme together. Blacks and greys are not my colour of choice for home decor – but I love the way my mood board has come together. In fact – I think I may use this as inspiration to decorate our bedroom because I love it so much.

If you want to find out more about entering this competition, click here – but hurry, it closes on Sunday 17th August.

What do you think to my bedroom design? #twolittleowls

Twitter: twolittleowls1

Instagram: twolittleowlsblog

Email: twolittleowls@hotmail.co.uk

 

2 thoughts on “Hillary’s #blindofthemonth Home Makeover Competition

Leave a Reply

