You Beauty Discovery Box: First Impressions

photo 1

A: After unsubscribing from Birchbox last week, I was on the lookout for a new beauty box to have delivered; and this one caught me eye.

The You Beauty Discovery Box is a monthly subscription which costs just £6.95, including postage. On the first of the month, you head over to their website and choose two of your items from a selection that You Beauty have put together. As well as these items – which are usually full size, you get a selection of extras to complete your box.

First Impressions of the Box

The actual box is smaller than I expected it to be – but it does fit through my letterbox which is a bonus and it’s actually quite cute. It’s really high quality too, which makes you feel like you’ve received a high-end product – and we all love that feeling. There’s not tonnes of packaging which is a plus for me (I am a bit of an eco-warrior), but they have still managed to achieve that quality feeling. Everything packs in just nicely – very happy!

The Products

This month, there were so many lovely things to choose from and a good a combination of skincare and make-up. I have A LOT of skincare samples to use from my Birchboxes so I decided to go for a nail varnish from the Peggy Sage Nude Collection (you could also choose from the Summer collection), and a mineral eye shadow from Marsk. 

 

photo 2

 

I am so pleased I chose the nude collection because although you don’t choose the exact colour, I got the colour I wanted! I did have a bit of a Google to see what the selection was like and this is the colour that I liked the most. The shade is ‘Nude Innocence 752’, and it has a beautiful but discreet shimmer to it. It is perfect for every day wear but will also look amazing with some gold glitter if you want to make it a bit more exciting. I have already used this (I pretty much opened it as soon as I opened my box!). It applies beautifully and the brush is a really lovely shape which fits into the curve of your nail really well. 

The Marsk Mineral Eye shadow in Rich List is amazing. When I first saw the colour I was a bit worried because it is really yellow-y (that’s definitely a real word), but once it’s applied it looks beautiful. It’s pretty much like applying actual gold to your eyes. I can’t wait until a special occasion comes up and I can wear this – sadly, I think it may be a little OTT for work. Chloe and I are thinking of doing of FOTD with this though, gold eye shadow is super in at the moment and we would love to have a practice – what do you think?

photo 3

Onto the extra products. I received the Jimmy Choo Eau de Parfum for men and for women. I already have this (the women’s version obvs) and love it so I am super happy to receive a sample sized version to pop into my handbag for a mid-day spritz. It’s such lovely scent and I highly recommend it if you are looking for something fresh and unusual. I haven’t ever smelt the male version, but I have given it to my boyfriend so I will be doing a review of this as soon as he’s given it a go.

I also received a sample of FaceD – 3-Luronics Cream Serum. This isn’t a product I’ve heard of before so I’m quite excited to use it. It is an anti-wrinkle serum which ‘visibly reduces wrinkles and expression lines from the first application’, and being a twenty-something woman I know I should be starting to use anti-wrinkle creams (scary!) so this will hopefully get me kick-started. I will be reviewing this once I’ve given it a run for it’s money.

Lastly, a freebie nail-buffer. This is a perfect addition to any beauty-lover’s handbag because it is a 4-in-1 tool allowing to so shape, smooth, buff and shine so you can give your nails a total once-over.

Overall Impression

I am pretty impressed with this box. I love all of the products and will definitely use them – not something I could always say about Birchbox. I can’t wait to share reviews with you, and I’m already excited about next month’s box!

Do you subscribe to You Beauty Discovery? Do you have any other Beauty Subscription Tips? #twolittleowls

Twitter: twolittleowls1

Instagram: twolittleowlsblog

Email: twolittleowls@hotmail.co.uk

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “You Beauty Discovery Box: First Impressions

Leave a Reply

