Jewellery Hangers

A: If you’re anything like me, you’ll probably have about 100 half started projects kicking around your house. I always get really excited about something then get bored of waiting for glue to dry/run out of glitter, then I get too excited about another project and start that one. But I’m pretty proud to say that I started and finished this all in one evening (with the added help of my hair dryer). So what is this wondrous project I hear you ask…

20140630-193510-70510538.jpg
Ta-da! I don’t know where I got this idea from, so I’m gonna take the credit for it – but as you can see, I have copious amounts of jewellery. This used to all be stored in a vintage wash basin on my dressing table. I used to get so annoyed at trying to find a particular necklace to go with an outfit, and now they are all hung up so I can see them.

I started by finding three vintage style wooden hangers on eBay, these cost £4.50 for all three but I was checking nearly every day for a couple of weeks to get such a bargain. Then, the night they were delivered I nipped to my local DIY shop and bought two different types of screw hooks (you’ll see a close up of them in a minute…so carry on reading!). These were 99p per packet and I bought two packets. As soon as I got home, I hunted out my bottle of PVA glue – used a cheap one from Wilkinson’s for this. I then went into my tissue paper draw (yeah I have way too much craft stuff) and chose three different patterns – one for each hanger.

20140630-194513-71113344.jpg

20140630-194518-71118199.jpg

20140630-194510-71110744.jpg
To apply the decoupage coverings and add the hooks, I took the following steps;

1. Lightly sand the wooden hangers, this helps the glue stick.

2. Shred the tissue paper into inch wide strips.

3. Apply the first layer of glue to one area of a hanger and add a strip of paper, continue this until the hanger is totally covered and then coat the whole thing in glue. This part can get really messy but it’s fun!

4. This is the boring part, waiting for the glue to dry (or get the hair dryer out like I did!). Once you finished the final layer of glue though, you can carry on with the other hangers.

5. Once they are dry you need to start adding the hooks. I didn’t work out the spacing on these properly (another example of being too excited) I just went by eye but I think they look okay. You need to start the holes with the end of a sharp knife to make sure they get a good bedding.

6. I then started screwing in the hooks. I used two hangers for open hooks to hang necklaces and bracelets, and one hanger for closed hooks to hang earrings (the pink, orange and gold patterned). Whilst screwing the hooks in, I made sure they were all facing the same way when finished. I did use a pair of pliers to make sure they were tightly secured.

7. Hang them on your wall and start filling them with all of your goodies!

So for a total cost of £6.48 I’ve got a really unique storage system, which I can easily add too if I need to and change to suit the decoration of my bedroom. If you have a go at this, you can let your imagination run wild and add glitter, ribbons, buttons or whatever else you can find. I think I may start making them for presents!

What do you think to my jewellery hangers? #twolittleowls

Twitter: twolittleowls1

Instagram: twolittleowlsblog

Email: twolittleowls@hotmail.co.uk

4 thoughts on “Jewellery Hangers

  1. Susan and the Sphynx

    Totally relate about getting excited about other ideas and then ending up with so many unfinished projects! This came out really great! You actually gave me an idea about how to display some vintage costume jewelry I have but no longer wear!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

