F.O.T.E

A: for all of you followers, you will know that we went to a Ball on Saturday evening with our other halves (see the full post here – with extra funny photos). Today, we are going to give you a quick run down of the make up we chose for the evening.

We had totally planned to do loads of photos for this post, but we ended up having about half an hour for make up application/getting dressed/choosing accessories/having a glass of Prosecco/AND choosing lipstick. I know right. I’m suprised we were even able to leave the house, so unfortunately this is the best photo we got of our make up. Sorry!

20140608-153412-56052935.jpg

A: so I’m the ginger one on the left for those of you that didn’t already know. I went for a dramtic lip colour and subtle eyes. I started off with my MAC Prep & Prime BB Cream. This stuff has amazing lasting qualites so I knew it would look good for the whole evening and because it’s a BB cream, it doesnt make you look like you’ve got tonnes of make up on. I then moved onto eyes, using my Elizabth Arden pallette, and a dark green with a pale gold just on my eyeline. I tend not to wear too much eyeshadow, and I like the look this gives. I then added liquid eyeline with flicks and some gold dust shadow which I received in my December Birchbox. I applied this to the line of my eyeline and in the inner cornes of my eyes and just underneath. This is super glittery and looks really pretty with just a little shadow. Mascara used was the favourite – Benefit’s They’re Real. You can’t go wrong with this because it lasts so well and doesn’t smudge, but gives a really dramatic look.

After this, I used my Bare Minerals foundation in ‘fair’ (the palest one you can get!), to help hide those pesky blemishes – damn them! They cover up really well with this though, and I do find that it helps the healing process too, and the Bare Minerals concealer brush is perfect for cover ups. I finished with a light all over dusting of this of this, just to take off any shine. Next, was the contouring, blusher and highlighting. I used my Bare Minerals powder in ‘warmth’ for contouring and buffed with my ‘flawless face’ brush – also Bare Minerals. I then added my blusher, I chose the Elf in ‘rose’. After this I borrowed Chloe’s MAC highlighter – and was super impressed…may have to make an investment!! I then blended these together to give a more natural look.

Eyebrows slightly filled in with my pencil, and then to The Lipstick. Capital letters are necessary – lipstick is pretty important to me. I chose the Clarins Joli Rough in spicy cinnamon. I LOVE Clarins lip products – they are really moisturising and pigmented, so the colour lasts ages. I only had to re-apply 3 times all night, and we ate a three course meal! If you’re interested, the link to Clarins is here!

C: so I am the non-ginger one if you didn’t already know! I always wear more make up than Annie (I get excited) so apologies in advance for how long this post will be!

I started off by applying my benefit Porefessional as my primer as my pores are basically the size of moon craters and it creates an amazing base for foundation, and makes your make-up last all day/night. I then used my Mac Matchmaster foundation and Soap & Glory’s Kick Ass powder to set it. My Mac foundation is one of my favourite products in my make up kit because it gives such a natural but perfect finish.

I then filled in the eyebrows with the ELF eyebrow kit in dark before moving on to my eyes (I LOVE this product and always include it in my FOTD and make-up essentials posts). I like a dark smokey eye for a night out so after using Benefits Stay Don’t Stray concealer I used a Body Shop black eyeliner under my eye to make them look a little wider and then Barry M eyeshadows in black and silver, which is a perfect combination. I used the black eyeshadow on my outer eye lid and along the crease and the silver on the rest of the lid. I then finished off with a flick of Rimmel eyeliner (my fav is featured in my recent empties post) and Benefits They’re real mascara, which as Annie already said is our go-to-mascara.

I then moved on to my contouring – I’ve been super excited about contouring recently because it can change your look so dramatically. I think it’s best to contour last so you can see how it looks with the rest of your make up/you don’t end up clown-esque, very easily done. I used Benefits Hoola Bronzer, the BALMS Mary Lou Manizer highlighter and a bright pink blusher from Mac! Lastly I used my No7 lip crayon in a dark pink just to add a little colour to my lips. I went for a more dramatic look on my eyes rather than lips – this is my usual look and Annie always does the opposite!

What’s your favourite look for a night out? #twolittleowls

Instagram: @twolittleowlsblog

Twitter: @twolittleowls1

Email: twolittleowls@hotmail.co.uk

2 thoughts on “F.O.T.E

Leave a Reply

