Patchwork Update

A: Hope you’re having a lovely Sunday!

I’ve been doing some more work on my patchwork blanket today, if you have no idea what I’m talking about click here.

I’ve done some simple appliqué work, taking some of my favourite fabrics and adding them to a calico backing to strengthen them.

20140202-165353.jpg

This bird fabric is from one of my old tops and it’s a lovely raw silk, I wore it to death and could face throwing it out when the time came, so when I said in my last post you can use anything to make your blanket, I really meant it! I’ve finished the edge with some cotton tape, this is a bit of a cheat really because it just means I won’t have to hem the edge!

20140202-165637.jpg

I did the same with this square, but placed the patterned fabric in the centre and finished both edges with cotton tape and added some buttons, one plain and one gold. All I need to do to finish these squares is use my sewing machine to see the cotton tape with a coordinating coloured running stitch. You can do this by hand if you want to. #twolittleowls

Instagram: @twolittleowlsblog

Twitter: @twolittleowlsblog

Email: twolittleowls@hotmail.co.uk

Leave a Reply

