Patchwork Blanket

Image

A: I don’t know about  you but I always think that January is a bit of a rubbish month. The weather is always cold and rainy and I’m normally on a post Christmas diet after indulging way too much!

This year is no different so I have decided to start a new project to keep me occupied and away from the chocolate! I will be posting my progress, tips and how – tos, just in case you’re feeling the same and need a project of you’re own!

The Patchwork Blanket

First of all, you need to think about what kind of size you want your blanket to be. I’m making one for my double bed, which is pretty ambitious but I think it’ll be worth it. Once you’ve decided, measure out the rough size of your total blanket.

So I know now that I need 169 6″ x 6″ squares to make a double blanket. That does sound pretty daunting I know, BUT most of the squares will just need cutting, pressing and sewing together! Choose your fabric. Now this doesn’t need to be done all in one go, if you see some nice fabric whilst you’re out shopping then go for it! And have a rummage through your linen cupboard if you have one! I am very lucky because I am a self-confessed hoarder and have a huge stock of fabric in my linen cupboard. I tend not to throw anything away, whether it was part of an old dress or some bedsheets as I’m sure they will come in handy for something in the future – and now they have!

Remember, this project does not have to be expensive, use anything you can lay your hands on – I am even using some pretty vintage pillowcases I used to use when I had sleepovers at my Nan’s house so my blanket will have some sentimental value too 🙂

Make a template of the size you need your squares to be – remember to add on some space to allow for the seams! I need my finished squares to measure 6″ x 6″ so I have made a template for 7″ x 7″.

Once you’ve got your template ready you can use it to cut out as many pieces of fabric as you need. I’m cutting my fabric as I go, and i’m not planning too much in advance, just doing a few squares when i get a free half an hour or so in the evening or at the weekend.

*TIP* press the squares as you cut them, I ALWAYS use spray starch when I’m doing anything like this, it makes the fabric stiff and it smells nice too!!

SQUARE 1

If you’ve got a particular fabric you like, use it as many ways as you can. Here’s the first square I made, using the fabric I mentioned earlier which was my Nan’s.

 

Image

I cut out a simple heart shape then pinned it to a plain, unbleached calico square and used a coordinating colour thread to do a running stitch and then do three large cross stitches in the same thread. I’ve also used the same patterned fabric to make some squares. I’m not going to add any embellishment to these as i want my blanket to be a mix of decorative and simple – but you can do whatever you want, that’s the beauty of DIY!

Image

I’ve used a plain calico again as the background for this embellished square (if you need to buy some plain fabric for your blanket, this is the best type to buy – it’s durable, heavy and cheap! most haberdashery shops sell it for around £2.99 a metre!).

I am a firm believer (C: NOT Belieber…) in being thrifty, and to decorate this square I used an old head tie I bought for a 70’s fancy dress. I loved the little daisies so kept in my (overflowing) sewing box, and I thought they’d be perfect for the blanket.

The white fabric was cut from some left over fabric from making a cushion, I then added a couple of rows of yellow running stitch to secure it in place – and then I secured the daisies with a couple of tacks in the leaves. I’ve got some daisies leftover too, so I will put some more in when I make another square. 

C: Hope you enjoyed Annie’s post, the next couple of steps and square ideas will be up in the next few days so keep checking (or give us a cheeky follow for updates) #⃣twolittleowlsblog

follow us on:

twitter: @twolittleowlsblog

instagram: @twolittleowlsblog

or email us on twolittleowls@hotmail.co.uk

Follow on Bloglovin

3 thoughts on “Patchwork Blanket

  1. Pingback: Patchwork Update | twolittleowlsblog

  2. Pingback: Patchwork finds! | twolittleowlsblog

  3. Pingback: Patchwork Update | twolittleowlsblog

Leave a Reply

